Civitas (The Logan Banner)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (8)2-03782
2New England Patriots1-13424
3Atlanta Falcons (1)2-03585
4Green Bay Packers1-13021
5Denver Broncos2-032114
6Pittsburgh Steelers (2)2-03436
7Oakland Raiders (1)2-03476
8Seattle Seahawks1-12558
9Dallas Cowboys1-12663
10Baltimore Ravens2-029212
11Detroit Lions2-028813
12Tampa Bay Buccaneers1-024815
13Carolina Panthers2-026310
14Philadelphia Eagles1-123411
15New York Giants0-211117
16Tennessee Titans1-121016
17Miami Dolphins1-020018
18Minnesota Vikings1-12309
19Los Angeles Chargers0-212021
20Washington Redskins1-116723
21Arizona Cardinals1-114522
22Houston Texans1-115524
23New Orleans Saints0-28926
24Los Angeles Rams1-113820
25Buffalo Bills1-112625
26Jacksonville Jaguars1-113919
27Cincinnati Bengals0-26727
28Cleveland Browns0-25229
29San Francisco 49ers0-25130
30Indianapolis Colts0-23031
31Chicago Bears0-25228
32New York Jets0-21732

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 19

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.