Civitas (Point Pleasant Register)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Herm Edwards

Follow Herm Edwards on Twitter @HermEdwardsESPN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (12)14-23841
2Dallas Cowboys13-33712
3Kansas City Chiefs12-43543
4Pittsburgh Steelers11-53306
5Atlanta Falcons11-53445
6Seattle Seahawks10-5-13099
7Green Bay Packers10-63228
8New York Giants11-53227
9Oakland Raiders12-42824
10Detroit Lions9-726811
11Denver Broncos9-723715
12Miami Dolphins10-627110
13Baltimore Ravens8-820412
14Washington Redskins8-7-120814
15Minnesota Vikings8-816022
16Tampa Bay Buccaneers9-722016
17Houston Texans9-723912
18Tennessee Titans9-721317
19Indianapolis Colts8-817018
20Buffalo Bills7-912620
21New Orleans Saints7-915319
22Arizona Cardinals7-8-116521
23Philadelphia Eagles7-912424
24Carolina Panthers6-1011623
25Cincinnati Bengals6-9-110725
26San Diego Chargers5-118226
27New York Jets5-117328
28Chicago Bears3-134829
29Los Angeles Rams4-124330
30Jacksonville Jaguars3-135327
31San Francisco 49ers2-142431
32Cleveland Browns1-151432

Herm Edwards

Former NFL head coach and player joined ESPN in March 2009 as an NFL studio analyst. He appears primarily on NFL Live, SportsCenter, Audibles, and ESPN Radio, while also contributing to ESPN's annual NFL draft coverage.

Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.