Horizon (The Kent County Daily Times)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

Tampa Tribune
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Carolina Panthers (12)15-13842
2Arizona Cardinals13-33311
3Denver Broncos12-43604
4New England Patriots12-43293
5Cincinnati Bengals12-43186
6Kansas City Chiefs11-53365
7Seattle Seahawks10-63288
8Minnesota Vikings11-53079
9Pittsburgh Steelers10-629011
10Washington Redskins9-727712
11Green Bay Packers10-626410
12Houston Texans9-725613
13New York Jets10-62427
14Buffalo Bills8-822417
15Atlanta Falcons8-819314
16Indianapolis Colts8-818518
17New Orleans Saints7-917221
18Oakland Raiders7-918615
19St. Louis Rams7-918316
20Detroit Lions7-917919
21Chicago Bears6-1011823
22Miami Dolphins6-1010429
23Tampa Bay Buccaneers6-1010724
24Philadelphia Eagles7-916320
25New York Giants6-1012422
26Baltimore Ravens5-119225
27Jacksonville Jaguars5-116626
28San Francisco 49ers5-115131
29San Diego Chargers4-126427
30Dallas Cowboys4-125228
31Cleveland Browns3-132530
32Tennessee Titans3-131432

Ira Kaufman

Began career with UPI in New York in 1976 and has written about the NFL since 1979, when he covered the Ray Perkins-led Giants and a rookie QB named Phil Simms. Worked for Tampa Tribune since 1990.

Tampa Tribune
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.