Civitas (The Sedalia Democrat)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Oakland Raiders (1)2-03476
2Atlanta Falcons (1)2-03585
3Kansas City Chiefs (8)2-03782
4Pittsburgh Steelers (2)2-03436
5New England Patriots1-13424
6Denver Broncos2-032114
7Detroit Lions2-028813
8Seattle Seahawks1-12558
9Green Bay Packers1-13021
10Dallas Cowboys1-12663
11Tampa Bay Buccaneers1-024815
12Minnesota Vikings1-12309
13Baltimore Ravens2-029212
14Carolina Panthers2-026310
15Philadelphia Eagles1-123411
16Tennessee Titans1-121016
17Houston Texans1-115524
18Washington Redskins1-116723
19Arizona Cardinals1-114522
20Miami Dolphins1-020018
21Buffalo Bills1-112625
22Jacksonville Jaguars1-113919
23Los Angeles Rams1-113820
24New Orleans Saints0-28926
25Los Angeles Chargers0-212021
26New York Giants0-211117
27San Francisco 49ers0-25130
28Cincinnati Bengals0-26727
29Cleveland Browns0-25229
30Chicago Bears0-25228
31New York Jets0-21732
32Indianapolis Colts0-23031

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 19

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.