Times Leader Civitas

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Pat Kirwan

SiriusXM NFL Radio/CBSSports.com
Follow Pat Kirwan on Twitter @PatKirwanCBS
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Green Bay Packers (6)0-0375-
2Seattle Seahawks (4)0-0367-
3Denver Broncos0-0326-
4Indianapolis Colts0-0339-
5New England Patriots (2)0-0359-
6Baltimore Ravens0-0314-
7Dallas Cowboys0-0317-
8Pittsburgh Steelers0-0297-
9Cincinnati Bengals0-0262-
10Arizona Cardinals0-0267-
11Philadelphia Eagles0-0253-
12Detroit Lions0-0234-
13Miami Dolphins0-0219-
14Minnesota Vikings0-0214-
15Carolina Panthers0-0219-
16San Diego Chargers0-0222-
17Houston Texans0-0204-
18New Orleans Saints0-0161-
19Buffalo Bills0-0184-
20San Francisco 49ers0-0104-
21St. Louis Rams0-0162-
22Kansas City Chiefs0-0210-
23New York Giants0-0134-
24New York Jets0-0103-
25Washington Redskins0-066-
26Atlanta Falcons0-0109-
27Cleveland Browns0-059-
28Chicago Bears0-091-
29Jacksonville Jaguars0-035-
30Oakland Raiders0-069-
31Tennessee Titans0-020-
32Tampa Bay Buccaneers0-041-


Poll released: Aug 4

By Week

Pre-SeasonWeek 1Week 2Week 3Week 4Week 5Week 6Week 7Week 8Week 9Week 10Week 11Week 12Week 13Week 14Week 15Week 16Week 17Final

Pat Kirwan

Prior to joining CBSSports.com, he was on on-air analyst and columnist for CNN/SI Network and CNNSI.com. Also co-hosts the popular Movin' The Chains radio program on SiriusXM NFL Radio.

SiriusXM NFL Radio/CBSSports.com
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.