Daily Journal

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Alex Marvez

Follow Alex Marvez on Twitter @alexmarvez
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Green Bay Packers (6)0-0375-
2New England Patriots (2)0-0359-
3Baltimore Ravens0-0314-
4Carolina Panthers0-0219-
5Indianapolis Colts0-0339-
6Cincinnati Bengals0-0262-
7San Diego Chargers0-0222-
8Denver Broncos0-0326-
9Arizona Cardinals0-0267-
10Seattle Seahawks (4)0-0367-
11Dallas Cowboys0-0317-
12Minnesota Vikings0-0214-
13Houston Texans0-0204-
14Kansas City Chiefs0-0210-
15Philadelphia Eagles0-0253-
16Detroit Lions0-0234-
17Pittsburgh Steelers0-0297-
18St. Louis Rams0-0162-
19Miami Dolphins0-0219-
20New York Jets0-0103-
21Buffalo Bills0-0184-
22New York Giants0-0134-
23Atlanta Falcons0-0109-
24New Orleans Saints0-0161-
25San Francisco 49ers0-0104-
26Cleveland Browns0-059-
27Jacksonville Jaguars0-035-
28Washington Redskins0-066-
29Oakland Raiders0-069-
30Chicago Bears0-091-
31Tampa Bay Buccaneers0-041-
32Tennessee Titans0-020-


Poll released: Aug 4

By Week

Pre-SeasonWeek 1Week 2Week 3Week 4Week 5Week 6Week 7Week 8Week 9Week 10Week 11Week 12Week 13Week 14Week 15Week 16Week 17Final

Alex Marvez

Foxsports.com: Senior NFL writer at FOXSports.com and a show host on SiriusXM NFL Radio. Has covered the NFL since 1995, including stints as a Bengals, Broncos and Dolphins beat writer.

Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.